2011 · Finished Object

1: The First Project

I recently decided I’d like to revisit my old FOs. Luckily I am a bit obsessed with keeping everything up to date with as much information as possible on Ravelry and my wonderful friend Cia (who taught me to knit) introduced me to the site on Day 1 of my Knitting Adventures. My aim is to go through my FOs in chronological order of finishing.

The Scarf
It really is quite big

My first project was a scarf. I picked up seven (yes, seven) balls of Drops Eskimo, cast on and basically just knit garter stitch until I ran out. I used 9mm bamboo needles and I remember sitting in the armchair in the lounge at my husband’s grandparents house slooowwwwly working away at each stitch. As you can imagine, it turned out to be far, far too big to actually wear day to day. It is brilliant, however, if it’s an absolutely freezing clear day in winter. If there’s any hint of rain it’s not so good as my goodness, the yarn is felty. It’s a super chunky single ply so it’s to be expected really. Very smooshy.

What I love about this project is that you can see my tension and my knitting improve from one end of the scarf to the next. Sometimes when I look at something really technical or get scared of something knitting related I like to think back at it and remind myself that once I even struggled with the knit stitch. Even if I never really wear it, it’s still lovely to have in my wardrobe reminding me of a great day learning a new skill (which quickly became an obsession) with a friend.

Stats
Started: September 1st 2011
Finished: September 24th 2011
Yarn: 2 balls of Drops Eskimo in Pink/Brown Print
5 balls of Drops Eskimo in Khaki/Lime/Purple Print
345m yarn overall
Needles: 9mm Clover Bamboo

Leave a Reply

