2015 · Finished Object

74: Avengers Blanket

So. When I get into something, I get into it. You could use the word obsessed. It would probably be accurate! I’ve cycled through a few – Star Trek TNG, Hellboy, Supernatural etc. There was also a few years when it was the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I still enjoy it greatly to this day. I had been bored at work between calls and looking for something to so when I discovered pixel blankets. What better way to spend my time than crocheting the Avengers in pixels?! I didn’t realise how much of a slog it would become, but it was definitely a good way to spend time at work. I’d originally planned to include Nick Fury, Coulson and Loki (and I charted them) but after the main six I just couldn’t face any more. Each pixel was individually crocheted, then sewn into rows, then the rows sewn together and finally each character sewn together. It was a lot of work. I still haven’t finished weaving in all the edges! It is also the size of a double bed so incredible difficult to get a decent photo of. I am immensely proud of it.

Stats
Started: April 23rd 2014
Finished: September 20th 2015
Yarn: Robin Double Knit
Hook: 5mm

Notes
Iron Man – April 23rd to May 22nd
Hulk – June 8th to February 28th
Captain America – March 1st to March 21st
Thor – March 23rd to April 13th
Black Widow – April 13th to June 9th
Hawkeye – August 11th to September 7th

Leave a Reply

